New Zealand Black Sox Men’s Fastpich Softball Team looks at change in style

Written by Bob on November 26th, 2013


NEW ZEALAND – A change in roster could herald a shift in game plan for the New Zealand men’s softball team as they build towards the defence of their world title.

A loss of experience and power hitting could mean a change of style for the Black Sox men’s softball team under new coach Mark Sorenson.

In naming his first squad, Sorenson has cast the net wide as New Zealand begin a two-year build-up towards the defence of the world crown they won in Auckland this year.

Sorenson is excited by the replacements he has found for several veteran players who have called it a day, but says it doesn’t mean a continuation of a formula that has been successful.

Mark_Sorenson Mark Sorenson was appointed as Head Coach of the New Zealand Black Sox National Men’s Fastpitch Team in 2013. The Black Sox won the 2013 International Softball Federation (ISF) World Championship with a 9-1 record, and will defend its crown in 2015 at Saskatoon, SK, Canada, June 26-July 7 in the 14th occasion of the world wide men’s fastpitch championships.

“Not only have we lost a lot of experience, we’ve also lost a lot of power,” he said. “While we’ve still got big boppers like Brad Rona and Donny Hale, most of the other guys are very, very fit and fast, so we’ll have to approach the game differently and use those skills to build pressure on the opposition.”

Among those who have gone are captain Rhys Casley, Jarrad Martin, Thomas Makea, Patrick Shannon and Daniel Milne.

However, Auckland’s Enoka brothers – outfielder Ben and pitcher Thomas – are back in the mix, while outfielder Jerome Haretuku returns, after he was cut late from the world championship squad to make way for injury cover for the injured Casley.


Pitchers: Thomas Enoka (Auckland), Nik Hayes (Hutt Valley), Bailey Hoani (Auckland), Regan Manley (Canterbury), Josh Pettit (Wellington), Kurt Schollum (Marlborough), Brad Worsley (Hutt Valley), Heinie Shannon (Auckland);

Catchers: Curtis Cosh (Auckland), Aaron Neemia (Wellington), Connor Peden (North Harbour), Ryan Schollum (Marlborough), Cory Timu (Hutt Valley);

Infield: Tyron Bartorillo (Canterbury), Tyson Byrne (Hutt Valley), Josh Harbrow (Canterbury), Nathan Nukunuku (Auckland), Frank Pointon (Canterbury), Jerome Raemaki (Wellington), Brad Rona (North Harbour);

Outfield: Ben Enoka (Auckland), Donny Hale (Auckland), Jerome Haretuku (Auckland), Wayne Laulu (Wellington), Campbell Makea (Wellington), Josh Thompson (Canterbury).

Leave a Comment