Ohio Battery, Maccabi USA and Taft (Calif.) Buzzards claim Las Vegas Road Trip titles

Written by Bob on April 13th, 2015


LAS VEGAS – The eighth annual Las Vegas Road Trip men’s fastpitch tournament is in the books with three teams emerging as champions in the AA / AA-Major, A-Major, and A divisions of the NAFA-sanctioned tournament conducted by the Southern California Independent Fastpitch Association (SCIFL).

    AA / AA-Major Division

Ohio Battery went undefeated (4-0) to claim the championship, but it wasn’t without a fight as the Ohio team had to hold off the 2014 NAFA World Series AA-Major champion Portland CR Brewers, 8-6, on Sunday to finally fly back to the Midwest with a Southwestern title.

The Brewers and Battery met in the winners bracket final, but this time the Ohio ball club had little difficulty, taking a 5-0 decision. The Brewers then got in a dog fight in the losers bracket final before squeezing past Randy’s A’s 6-5 for a second crack at Ohio Battery.

The runner-up CR Brewers finished 3-2, while Randy’s A’s took third with a 3-2 mark.

    A-Major Division

Maccabi USA roared through the A-Major division winning five consecutive games to claim the championship with a 10-0 victory over the Colorado Rage.

Maccabi bats stung opposing pitching by scoring 36 runs for a 7.2 average, while the pitching fired three shutouts and allowed just five runs in five games.

The Rage finished 3-2 in the 11-team division and beat K-Club of Washington, 5-0, in the losers bracket final to get back into title contention. K-Club started the tournament strong by reeling off two straight wins before losing to Maccabi, 10-3, in the quarterfinals.

Knocked into the losers bracket, the Washington ball club responded with a 7-4 victory over the Pirates and got past the Stealers 8-5 before falling to the Rage and finishing third at 4-2.

    A Division

The Taft Buzzards (near Bakersfield, Calif.) defeated Press Box of Montana, 12-7, to take the championship and remain unblemished at 5-0 in the 13-team tournament.

The two ball clubs met earlier in the winners bracket final with Buzzards taking a 6-2 decision, sending Press Box (4-2) into the losers bracket final where they beat the Oklahoma Sykos, 7-2, for a return match with the Buzzards.

For completed bracket results, visit the SCIFL website.

Leave a Comment