Pools, Schedule announced for 2017 WBSC Men’s Softball World Championship

Written by Bob on June 8th, 2017

WHITEHORSE, Canada — The World Baseball Softball Confederation today announced the pools and official tournament schedule of the 2017 WBSC Men’s Softball World Championship taking place in Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada from 7-16 July.

NEW ZEALAND will once again be a contender to win the 2017 WBSC Men’s Softball World Championship in Whitehorse, Canada, July 7-16, after finishing runner-up in 2015 to Canada. New Zealand leads all countries in the medal count with 12 gold, silver and bronze, including tops in gold with six, while Canada is a close second with 11 total medals, and No. 2 in the gold count with four. WBSC Photo

The 15th edition of the men’s flagship softball event will showcase more than 80 games — 64 games taking place in the round robin over the first seven days, followed by three days of playoff action.

The participating nations in the WBSC Men’s Softball Championship represent a global reach that spans across Africa, Asia, Europe, the Americas, and Oceania.

Nations will be divided into two pools to compete in a challenging round-robin, with the top four finishers from each pool advancing to the double page playoff round. The remaining teams will compete in the placement round.

    Pool A

No. 3 Argentina
No. 5 Australia
No. 4 Canada
No. 11 Dominican Republic
Hong Kong
No. 14 South Africa
No. 6 USA

USA Men’s National Team pitcher Duane Weiler of Bedford, Penn. hurls a pitch during the USA Softball Men’s National Invitational Fast Pitch Tournament in Ashland, Ohio, June 9-11. Photo courtesy of USA Softball

    Pool B

No. 19 Botswana
No. 8 Czech Republic
No. 13 Denmark
No. 10 Great Britain
No. 20 Indonesia
No. 2 Japan
No. 1 New Zealand
No. 7 Venezuela

All 17 participating National Teams will compete on Opening Day, with action opening on Friday, 7 July at 09:00 local time with Great Britain taking on Botswana.

(See Official WBSC Schedule)

On Friday, 7 July, opening ceremonies will begin at 18:00 at the main competition field, which will be followed by Canada meeting South Africa in front of the home crowd.

A key contest will be the rematch of the 2015 bronze medal game between New Zealand and Venezuela, when they face each other on 11 July at 15:00 pm.

The world championship gold medal game will take centre stage on 16 July at 16:00, and will be preceded by the bronze medal match at 13:00.

Both India and Turkey will be making their men’s world championship debuts. India’s first action will be versus Australia while Turkey’s first opponent will be New Zealand.

Canada is aiming to repeat as world champions following their gold medal performance on their home turf in 2015 by defeating New Zealand 10-5; Venezuela earned the bronze medal.

  • For information on tickets, visit 2017mensworldsoftball.com.
  • Leave a Comment