39th Annual Rice Lake Invitational final results

Written by Bob on June 16th, 2017

Tournament Committee
NAFA President
Wisconsin NAFA

RICE LAKE, Wisc. – After surviving an opening round scare from the upset-minded Cushing Tigers by the score of 4-3, Odin Fastpitch of the southwestern Minnesota town of Odin, Minnesota, population 106, racked up two more wins to claim the title of the rain-shortened 39th edition of the Aquafest Men’s Fastpitch Invitational Tournament held at Tate Park in Rice Lake June 9-11.

Odin first competed in the tourney in 2016, finishing third.

The champs had to rally in its second contest to hold off Len’s Automotive of St. Paul, 8-6. A 4-1 victory over the host team Rice Lake Orangemen in the winners bracket final turned out to be the last game the tourney champions had to play.

The Rice Lake Orangemen, who have competed in all 39 Invitationals, opened play in this year’s event with a 6-2 win over Striker’s Lanes of Baldwin, then went on to down first time entry Wizard of Oz of El Dorado, Kansas 10-1 and The Stoneyard of Appleton 10-2 before falling to Odin in the battle of tournament unbeatens.

The Orangemen led Len’s Automotive 10-8 in the 7th inning of the loser’s bracket final when another deluge of rain put an end to tournament play.

Unbeaten Odin was declared event champion, Rice Lake second, Len’s of St. Paul third, and Baldwin Striker’s fourth. Also taking part in the tourney were Wisconsin entries Dugout Bar & Grill of Cushing and Ben’s Northern Bar-Deer’s Food Locker of Luck.


  • 1.  Odin Fastpitch, Odin MN 3-0
  •   2.  Orangemen, Rice Lake WI 4-1
  • 3.  Len’s Automotive, St. Paul MN 3-2
  • 4.  Striker’s Lanes, Baldwin WI 4-2
  • 5. The Stoneyard, Appleton WI 1-2
  • 6. Ben’s Northern Bar-Deer’s Food Locker, Luck WI 1-4
  • 7.t Dugout Bar & Grill, Cushing WI 1-2
  • 7.t Wizard of Oz, El Dorado KS 1-2
  • 9. Cushing Tigers, Cushing WI 0-3

    1. Orangemen 6, Striker’s Lanes 2
    2.  Len’s Automotive 11, Ben’s Northern Bar-Deer’s Food Locker 4
    3.  Odin Fastpitch 4, Cushing Tigers 3
    4.  The Stoneyard 14, Dugout Bar and Grill 1
    5.  Orangemen 10, Wizard of Oz 1
    6.  Striker’s Lanes 22, Ben’s Northern Bar-Deer’s Food Locker 1
    7. Dugout Bar and Grill 6, Cushing Tigers 4
    8.  Wizard of Oz 21, Ben’s Northern Bar-Deer’s Food Locker 1
    9.  Striker’s Lanes 14, Cushing Tigers 6
    10.  Odin Fastpitch 8, Len’s Automotive 6
    11.  Orangemen 10, The Stoneyard 2
    12.  Striker’s Lanes 18, Wizard of Oz 5
    13.  Ben’s Northern Bar-Deer’s Food Locker 12, Dugout Bar and Grill 5
    14.  Len’s Automotive 14, Ben’s Northern Bar-Deer’s Food Locker 5
    15. Striker’s Lanes 3, The Stoneyard 1
    16.  Odin Fastpitch 4, Orangemen 1
    17.  Len’s Automotive 6, Striker’s Lanes 2
    18.  Orangemen 10, Len’s Automotive 8 (halted after 6 innings – rain)
    19.  Odin Fastpitch :vs: Orangemen – rained out


    PITCHER – Justin Davis, Odin Fastpitch
    PITCHER – Nic Siebenlist, Orangemen
    CATCHER – John Hohenstein, Odin Fastpitch
    CATCHER – Joaquin Alegre, Orangemen
    INFIELD – Chris Bambenek, Odin Fastpitch
    INFIELD – Gonzalo Masmu, Orangemen
    INFIELD – Willie Fairicy, Len’s Automotive
    INFIELD – Alex Farber, Len’s Automotive
    OUTFIELD – Mark Mohar, Odin Fastpitch
    OUTFIELD – Chris Bogie, Len’s Automotive
    OUTFIELD – Zac Campbell, Striker’s Lanes
    OUTFIELD – Brian Leonhard, Striker’s Lanes
    DESIGNATED BATTER – Mike Nilssen, Orangemen
    MOST VALUABLE PLAYER – Justin Davis (pitcher), Odin Fastpitch

    Ronn Kopp
    NAFA President

    Leave a Comment