Bradley Ezekiel browsing by tag


Ezekiel’s Feat Powers Chiefs Over Monsters

Tuesday, August 14th, 2018

– Brad Ezekiel wrote himself into the record book with an impressive day at the plate, and as a result, the Hill United Chiefs cruised to their third victory in the ISC World Tournament at Peter Hallman Ball Yard in Kitchener, Tuesday afternoon.

Ezekiel, batting leadoff, went 4-for-4 and drove in seven runs, highlighted by a second-inning grand slam that powered the Chiefs to an 8-1 victory over the Nith River Monsters of New Hamburg, Ontario. Ezekiel’s seven RBI ties him with 10 other players for most runs batted in, in an ISC World Tournament game.

The Chiefs’ bats, ignited by Ezekiel’s homer, plated five runs in the second, added two more in the fourth and one in the sixth to give Adam Folkard more than enough offensive support.

The right-hander won his third game of the tournament and finished with a two-hitter, three walks and 10 strikeouts in five innings of work. Pablo Migliavacca relieved Folkard in the sixth and struck out the side to end the game under the seven-run rule.

The River Monsters (2-1) plated their lone run in the second on Steve Lyons double that sent Greg Hammell racing home from first base. Hammell reached safely on a two-out single.

Only two other Chiefs hit safely in the club’s eight-hit attack. Jeff Ellsworth was 2-for-3, Shane Boland was 1-for-2 and scored twice, and Nicolas Carril went 1-for-3.

With but three games into the tournament, Ezekiel leads all batters with four home runs and 12 RBI, and has six hits in 11 at bats for a .545 average. He is yet to strikeout and has scored six times.

As for Folkard, he has allowed just one run on three hits in 15 innings with 33 strikeouts.

The win moves the four-time ISC World Tournament champions into Thursday’s round at 6 p.m. Opponent yet to be determined.

***The 11 players with seven RBI in a game include Paul Smith (1958), Eric Isenhart (1991), Boomer Brush (1993), Steve Price (1998), Kyle Beane (1998), Dan Skillings (2007), B.J. Gulick (2011), Donny Hale (2012), Frederik Terkelsen (2014), Mark Johnson (2016), and joining this record-setting group is Brad Ezekiel.***