Carley Parish browsing by tag


NAFA welcomes its newest Hall of Fame members

Thursday, August 7th, 2014

QUAD CITIES, Ia/Il – The North American Fastpitch Association (NAFA) welcomed its newest members into the Hall of Fame during ceremonies Thursday night at Green Valley Sports Complex in Moline, Ill.

080714-HernandezRobertHoF.71web Robert Hernandez, who served NAFA as a Vice President and national tournament director waves to fans during his Hall of Fame induction.

LubkemanNelsonHoF.52webTodd Lubkeman and Mark Nelson of Willkomm Mobil, Kenosha, Wisc. were inducted together into the NAFA Hall of Fame after playing years together for Willkomm, sponsored by Jerry Willkomm.

ParishHernandezHoF.33web Carley Parish, who served as the NAFA UIC and joined the organization in 1997 was presented by her good friend Robert Hernandez, who was also inducted.

HernandezEngleHoF.36web Rod Engle has played, coached and sponsored teams for over 50 years. He was inducted into the NAFA Hall of Fame for his service to the sport and to NAFA.

AlderGregHoF.44web Greg Alder of the Boise, Idaho RiverDogs has played, pitched and managed teams in the Boise area. During his playing days, he was instrumental in leading the Boise Metros to ISC, ASA and NAFA national tournaments. Alder also helped run and revitalize men’s fastpitch in the Boise City League. He was inducted for his service to the sport and to NAFA.

NAFA Announces 2014 Hall of Fame Class

Thursday, July 24th, 2014

lubkeman.todd.willkomm.10web Todd Lubkeman is one of the outstanding ball players who will be inducted into the NAFA Hall of Fame at scheduled ceremonies during the NAFA World Series in the Quad Cities of Iowa / Illinois, or at Masters World Series. Photo By BOB OTTO

    NAFA Press Release

    DAYTON, Ore. – The North American Fastpitch Association (NAFA) is pleased to announce its 2014 Hall of Fame class.



Carley Parish, Canada


Rod Engle, Pennsylvania

Bud Olson, Wisconsin

Charlie Bendock, Washington

Greg Alder, Idaho


Todd Lubkeman, Wisconsin

Tim DeJong, South Dakota

Mark Nelson, Wisconsin

B.J. Boom, Minnesota

Larry Cushman, Wisconsin

“Congratulations to each of you for earning the respect of the NAFA family and achieving this honor,” said Benjie Hedgecock NAFA Executive Director. “Each of you will be inducted at one of these three times and locations that you can select by replying to this email thread.”

Click to continue reading “NAFA Announces 2014 Hall of Fame Class”

Meet the umpires of the 2013 NAFA World Series

Thursday, August 1st, 2013


DES MOINES, Iowa – Fastpitch is a quick game. A base runner’s foot lands on first base as the ball pounds into the first baseman’s glove within a mili-second of each other. The play is oh-so-close from being called safe or out.

The batter crouches over the plate with bat cocked. The count is full with the bases loaded. The pitcher winds up and delivers. The ball slams into the catcher’s glove, nipping the outside corner at the knees…or was the ball an inch off the plate and an inch below the knees?

Two very close calls for any umpire to make. These are just samplings of the hundreds of game situations that the umpires of the 2013 NAFA World Series will have to rule over.

And rule they will, for these men and women are some of the sport’s very best.


Let’s meet them.

Leading the World Series Umpiring Staff is NAFA Director of Umpires Carley Parish with Pete Davis, UIC of Southern California, DUIC Bob Neville of Wisconsin, and Staff Coordinator Paul MacKenzie of Washington.

The 2013 NAFA umpiring crew includes:
1-Steve Ivie, Oregon
2-Clark Evans, New Mexico
3-Dan Young, British Columbia, Canada
4-Jason Smith, Minnesota
5-Kalani Ongais, Southern California
6-Trevor Stoyko, Canada
7-Conrad Beaird, Northern California
8-John Buck, Northern California
9-Mike Shelton, Oregon
10-Pete Mosgovian, Massachussets
11-Charles Thomas, Oregon
12-Matt Neville, Wisconsin
13-Jason Gauthier, Oregon
14-Derron Gerrior, Canada
15-Terry Smith, Oregon
16-Rachel Palmer, Minnesota
17-Cecil Luna, Kansas
18-Brandon Bluhm , Washington
19-Gary Bramer(first week only), Kansas
20-Steve Komoroski(first week only), Wisconsin
21-Don Kershner(first week only), Wisconsin
22-Gene Groan(Thurs and Friday only) driving, Iowa
23-Brett Kozlowski(first week only), Minnesota
24-Lawayne Rogers Iowa
25-Scott Shamblem , Iowa
26-Bob Chacon , Iowa
27-Dennis Frye , Iowa
28-Bob Radawitz(1st week only), Wisconsin
29-Brian Karich(2nd week only),. Minnesota
30-Andy Zook(2nd week only), Wisconsin
31-Doug Steinke(2nd week only), Wisconsin
32-Owen Raisbeck(2nd week only), Wisconsin
33-Mike Filpse(2nd week only), Wisconsin
34-Frank Olsen(2nd week only), Iowa
35-Greg Escobar(2nd week only), Kansas
36-Ed Fickes, Iowa
37-David Kerr, Iowa