Fargo-Moorhead Softball Hall of Fame

...now browsing by tag


FM Fastpitch Association set to host World Series in Fargo

Tuesday, August 15th, 2017

Justin Feist help organize this week’s NAFA tournament to be held at the Northside softball complex. David Samson / The Forum

By Eric Peterson / Forum News Service
Aug 8, 2017

FARGO – Justin Feist was asked to play on a fall fastpitch softball team nine years ago not knowing what to expect. Feist had played baseball in high school, but didn’t know much about fastpitch.

He got hooked.

“I really enjoyed it,” said the 28-year-old Feist, now the president of the Fargo Moorhead Fastpitch Association. “I’ve played ever since.”

Click to continue reading “FM Fastpitch Association set to host World Series in Fargo”

Fargo-Moorhead softball players inducted into Hall of Fame

Tuesday, August 15th, 2017

Fargo-Moorhead Softball Hall of Fame Inductees Brian Rahman, left, and Josef Olivieri chat with Sharon Morgan, chairperson of the Hall of Fame during the induction ceremony at the Northend Softball Complex, Friday, Aug. 11, 2017. Photo By BOB OTTO.

FARGO – Some of the best to ever play the sport of softball are from the Fargo-Moorhead area. In 2016 the Fargo-Moorhead Softball Hall of Fame was formed to honor the area’s best.

The first class was honored last year and the tradition has carried on with the second round of inductions held during a ceremony at Northside Softball Complex, Aug. 11.

Click to continue reading “Fargo-Moorhead softball players inducted into Hall of Fame”

Meeting Sharon and Mury Morgan at the 2017 NAFA World Series

Thursday, August 10th, 2017

SHARON MORGAN has been instrumental in continuing the legacy of Fargo women’s and men’s fastpitch in leadership roles, including chairperson of the Fargo-Moorhead Softball Hall of Fame. Photo By BOB OTTO / 2017 NAFA World Series

FARGO, N.D. – I talked fastpitch softball with some interesting and enthusiastic folks at the Northside Softball Complex on Thursday.

One of them is Sharon Morgan, chairperson of the Fargo-Moorhead Softball Hall of Fame that was formed in 2016. Sharon’s a former fastpitch player who ran the women’s Red River Valley Fastpitch Tournament for 25 years.

She’s proud that she and many others helped bring the first national fastpitch tournament to North Dakota that just happened to be a women’s event.

“After the women’s national it took off (hosting national tournaments in Fargo),” she said. “The men’s nationals and boys’ and girls’ nationals have been held here. But I am proud to be a part of the very first.”

For many years, Sharon and her husband Mury have given back to fastpitch. Mury has helped maintain the fields at Mickelson Softball Fields in Fargo, and of course Sharon has been involved in nearly everything softball in Fargo.

Including the Hall of Fame, which will induct four new members on Friday night during ceremonies at Northside Softball Complex.

She said this years’ inductees include Mike Lien, Karen Schumacher, Brian Rahman and Josef Olivieri.

In the rollout of the Hall of Fame in 2016, Keith Rosenbranz, Pat Johnson, Randy Stevens, Duane “Ace” Johnson, D-S Beverage, Inc., and the Tharaldson Enterprise Coed Softball team that won the 1992 national championship were inducted.

This year’s ceremony takes place at 5 p.m. during the NAFA World Series at Northside Softball Complex.

Sharon and Mury have been busy at the World Series. You can find Sharon running the gate, handing out tournament programs and answering questions, while Mury is busy transporting players and fans to and from the ball park in his golf cart.