Mercer High School browsing by tag


Meadville claims Missouri High School Boys Fastpitch State Championship

Wednesday, October 17th, 2012

Submitted by Eric Lewis / Head Boys’ Fastpitch Coach Winston High School

DANNER PARK, CHILLICOTHE, MO – Meadville High School swept through the 21st Annual Missouri Boys State High School Fastpitch Softball Tournament, July 28-29, to claim the championship by defeating Tina-Avalon in the final, 13-4.

Meadville won three games to claim the title. In it’s opener, the Eagles defeated Grundy 8-6, and then knocked off Mercer, 15-2, to advance to the championship game. Meanwhile, the Tina-Avalon Dragons opened by downing North Harrison 17-2, then held on to turn back the reigning state Champion Jefferson Eagles, 6-5, before falling to Meadville.

    The Top Finishers:
    1. Meadville Eagles
    2. Tina-Avalon Dragons
    3. Jefferson Eagles
    4. Mercer Cardinals
    5. North Harrison Shamrocks won the Consolation Championship with a 11-2 win over Winston.

The teams entered in the tournament include: Grundy, Ridgeway, Hale, Winston, Newtown-Harris, Tina-Avalon, North Harrison, Meadville, Mercer, and Jefferson. Defending champion Jefferson won four consecutive state titles (2008-2011) and eight in the past nine years.

The Missouri All-State Team: Meadville: Derek Smith, Derrick Knifong, Kolton Friesner and Trevor Corzette. Tina-Avalon: Noah Meyers and Joe Ray. Jefferson: Zach Jermain, Sam Kelley and Jordan McCrary. Mercer: Thomas Mallinson and Caleb Wyatt. North Harrison: Garren Gibson and Luke Stanley. Newton: Micah Busick.

Other high schools playing boys’ fastpitch include Gilman City, Pattonsburg, Northwestern, and Breckenridge.

To read and see photos about Missouri boys’ fastpitch, visit: Missouri Boys’ Softball News and Photos

19th Annual Missouri Boys State Fastpitch Tournament

Tuesday, September 28th, 2010

File photo By BOB OTTO

CHILLICOTHE, MO – Congratulations on a successful softball season. Your team has earned a spot in the 2010 Missouri Boys State Fastpitch Softball Tournament. The tournament is comprised of the top teams in the state that play boys fastpitch softball.

The tournament includes 13 of the 18 teams from around the state.

Representing the HDC Conference in Northern Missouri are Tri-County, North Harrison, Gilman City, Pattonsburg, Grundy County, Newtown-Harris, Winston and Mercer.

Representing the PVC Conference from Northwest Missouri is Jefferson. And representing the CLAA Conference in North Central Missouri are Tina-Avalon, Hale, Meadville and Northwestern.

All games for the tournament will be played on October 1-2 at Danner Park (See link below for park address) in Chillicothe, Missouri. The fields are located east of the Chillicothe Country Club and south of the Green Hills Golf Course near the hospital.

Games will begin at 4:00 p.m. on Friday and conclude with the Championship at 3:00 on Saturday.

Newtown-Harris will be making programs for the tournament. All schools involved should e-mail the official roster form to Jeremy Parsons of Newtown-Harris and Eric Lewis of Winston by noon, Wednesday.

Each school needs to complete their pass list and e-mail it to Eric Lewis at

Do not add additional adult spots to your passlist.

Each school is required to provide a new game ball for each game. We are looking forward to another exciting and competitive tournament this year. Good luck to all the teams and we look forward to seeing you at the State Tournament!

Good Luck,
Eric Lewis
Winston High School
WHS 660-749-5456
fax 660-749-5432
cell 660-334-0986

Darl Danner Memorial Park Website