Minneapolis softball

...now browsing by tag


Remembering Mike Solz, Minnesota men’s fastpitch icon

Wednesday, February 27th, 2019

MIKE SOLZ manages Danny’s Northeast men’s fastpitch team and he’s also the president of the Park Classic Men’s Fastpitch League. Minneapolis Star Photo by Russell Bull / July 17, 1965

Minneapolis Star Staff Writer

The Star Salutes: Softball Pilot Loop Prexy

MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. – Being a manager of a team in the league of which he is president doesn’t seem unusual at all to a veteran of 35 years of Minneapolis men’s fastpitch softball.

Saluted by the Minneapolis Star today, MIKE SOLZ is manager of Danny’s Northeast team and president of the Park Classic Men’s Fastpitch League.

And for good reason.

“At a meeting last spring with Park Board officials, I agreed to the job to help keep the league going and even try to expand it at fields in south and northeast Minneapolis,” said Solz.

Of about 500 softball teams in Minneapolis, 88 per cent of them are in the slowpitch category, the rest in Solz’ type of league.

Click to continue reading “Remembering Mike Solz, Minnesota men’s fastpitch icon”

A Step Back In Time: Remembering Minneapolis pitcher Paul Moreen

Sunday, January 29th, 2017

PAUL MOREEN was selected the Most Valuable Player of the 1962 Minneapolis Classic Fastpitch Softball League. He pitched Cloggy’s to the title.

MINNEAPOLIS – From the 1950s through 1960s, pitcher Paul Moreen was one of the dominate hurlers in Minneapolis and St. Paul men’s fastpitch.

Pitching for Cloggy’s, Moreen was selected the Most Valuable Player of the 1962 Classic Fastpitch Softball League. Leroy Hardeman, sporting a robust .357 batting average, won the batting title.

Moreen, along with Chuck Hays, Joe Perzel and Wayne Erickson were dominate pitchers in Minnesota during that era, often leading their teams to city, state and regional championships.


Paul Moreen, MVP
Joe Perzel
Wayne Erickson

Lou White
Joe Frisco

John Slopek, first base
Ron Pearson, second base
Leroy Harden, third base, batting champion
Darryl Crossman, shortstop
Laurie Balzer, utility infielder

Dick Cullen, centerfield
Dave Spencer, left field
Al Knaus, right field
Ernie Dickson, utility outfielder

Mike Solz