Robert Reder browsing by tag


Dolan & Murphy Shamrocks carry on Aurora men’s fabled fastpitch tradition

Sunday, May 27th, 2018

JOHN SCHWEIGHART of Camargo, Ill. plays the outfield for the Dolan & Murphy Shamrocks of Aurora, Ill. Photo Courtesy Dolan & Murphy Shamrocks

. – Men’s fastpitch tradition is a fabled one in Aurora, rivaling that of any city, state or nation. The names are legendary: Sealmasters, Home Savings, Coors Silver Bullets, Allsteel Steelers and Creative DJ’s.

Those teams both inspired admiration and struck fear in many a visiting ball club to Aurora’s Stevens-Adamson Field where they once played.

International Softball Congress World Championships? Amateur Softball Association titles? International Softball Federation championships? More than a few, including Stealmasters (formed in 1943) ASA national titles in 1959, 1961, 1965 and 1967. And the list could go on.

As with most things in life, there comes an end. And the great teams that once graced Stevens-Adamson Field have long since disbanded. But not so with the Aurora fastpitch tradition. The Dolan & Murphy Shamrocks have kept that accord very much alive.

For 32 years, the Shamrocks have been a competitive staple in ISC and ASA competition, traveling the Midwest and beyond competing against the best teams in North America.

Kyle Pittman, 27, began playing in a local league at 15 and now patrols the outfield for the Shamrocks. He’s come to know the history of Aurora fastpitch very well.

“Once I started getting into it I started finding out more about the history and legacy of the game in Aurora,” said Pittman. “It seemed like everyone I talked to who was from here new about the game back in its prime. I never got to go watch a game at Stevens-Adamson Field where you could watch the best players in the world compete; it’s something I regret.”

Click to continue reading “Dolan & Murphy Shamrocks carry on Aurora men’s fabled fastpitch tradition”

ISC II Tournament of Champions awards

Thursday, August 16th, 2012

    1. Parry Island North Ontario Hawks
    2. Aurora (IL) Dolan and Murphy
    3. Lanceros De Vargas Fastpitch
    4. St. Thomas Evergreen Storm

2012 ISC II All-Tournament Team
Robert Reder – Aurora Dolan & Murphy Shamrocks

Ward Gosse – Parry Island Hawks
Ales Jetmar – Aurora Dolan & Murphy Shamrocks
Jesus Mujica – Lanceros De Vargas Fast Pitch

John Zambrano – Lanceros De Vargas Fast Pitch
Dave Schuett – Aurora Dolan & Murphy Shamrocks
Ryan Fisk – Harriston Wellington Sox
LT Jacques – Parry Island Hawks
Ryan Shannon – Kitchener Bell Cartage Outlaws
Matt Greer – Parry Island Hawks

Chris Wismer- St. Thomas Evergreen Storm
T.J. Chase – Aurora Dolan & Murphy Shamrocks
Jeremy Creeden – Harriston Wellington Sox
Arturo Acacio – Lanceros De Vargas Fast Pitch

Designated Player
Pete Spoerl – Westerville Capitols

RBI Leader 11
John Zambrano (11) – Lanceros De Vargas Fast Pitch

Top Batter .583
Ryan Shannon (.583 average) – Kitchener Bell Cartage Outlaws

Most Outstanding Pitcher
Ward Gosse (4-0) – Parry Island Hawks

2012 ISC II Most Valuable Player
Ward Gosse – Parry Island Hawks