Winston High School boys’ fastpitch browsing by tag


Northwest Missouri Boys’ State Fastpitch Tournament Standings and Awards

Tuesday, October 21st, 2014

WINSTON, MO – The Missouri Boys’ State Fastpitch Tournament has finished and the Jefferson Eagles went 3-0 to claim the championship, their 10th title since the tournament began in 1992.

2014 State Tournament Order of Finish
1. Jefferson Eagles 11-2
2. Mercer Cardinals 11-7
3. Winston Redbirds 16-2
4. North Harrison Shamrocks 7-6
5. Grundy Panthers 5-6
5. East Harrison 4-8
5. Tri-County Mustangs 2-9
5. Newtown-Harris Tigers 0-14

All-State Fastpitch Team

Jed Galbraith, senior, unanimous selection
Ben Jermain, junior, unanimous
Bryce Deen, junior, unanimous
Corby Walker, junior

Drew Cox, senior, unanimous
Trey Wilson, junior, unanimous
Devin Purvis, senior

Chevy Calhoon, senior, unanimous
Craig Lewis, sophomore, unanimous
Ty Uthe, junior, unanimous
Kristchon Hisel, junior

Blake Emig, senior, unanimous
Colton Castleberry, senior

Mason Radcliff, junior

Slade Orndorff, senior

Missouri boys battle for state high school fastpitch championship

Tuesday, September 30th, 2014

2013-Winston.Boys.Fastpitch.web The Winston Redbirds won the 2013 Missouri Boys State High School Softball Championship and will try and repeat on Oct. 4.

CHILLICOTHE, Mo – On Saturday, Oct. 4, eight boys’ high school fastpitch softball teams will battle for a Missouri state championship.

The tournament is sanctioned by the Missouri State High School Activities Association, and will be held at Danner Park in Chillicothe.

Games start at 10 a.m. with eight teams participating in a single elimination format.

Defending champion and No. 1 seed Winston Redbirds coached by Eric Lewis takes on No. 8 Newtown-Harris at 10 a.m. in the top bracket with No. 2 Jefferson meeting No. 7 Tri-County in the bottom bracket. The championship is scheduled for 3:15 p.m.

Since the boys tournament started in 1992, the Jefferson Eagles have won 9 of the 22 state championships that have been held. Winston won the state tournament for the first time in school history in 2013.

Led by the pitching of sophomore Craig Lewis, the Redbirds combined explosive power, sound defense and Lewis’s pitching to outscore the competition 42-3. Most of the team is back, including Lewis in the circle.

Meadville claims Missouri High School Boys Fastpitch State Championship

Wednesday, October 17th, 2012

Submitted by Eric Lewis / Head Boys’ Fastpitch Coach Winston High School

DANNER PARK, CHILLICOTHE, MO – Meadville High School swept through the 21st Annual Missouri Boys State High School Fastpitch Softball Tournament, July 28-29, to claim the championship by defeating Tina-Avalon in the final, 13-4.

Meadville won three games to claim the title. In it’s opener, the Eagles defeated Grundy 8-6, and then knocked off Mercer, 15-2, to advance to the championship game. Meanwhile, the Tina-Avalon Dragons opened by downing North Harrison 17-2, then held on to turn back the reigning state Champion Jefferson Eagles, 6-5, before falling to Meadville.

    The Top Finishers:
    1. Meadville Eagles
    2. Tina-Avalon Dragons
    3. Jefferson Eagles
    4. Mercer Cardinals
    5. North Harrison Shamrocks won the Consolation Championship with a 11-2 win over Winston.

The teams entered in the tournament include: Grundy, Ridgeway, Hale, Winston, Newtown-Harris, Tina-Avalon, North Harrison, Meadville, Mercer, and Jefferson. Defending champion Jefferson won four consecutive state titles (2008-2011) and eight in the past nine years.

The Missouri All-State Team: Meadville: Derek Smith, Derrick Knifong, Kolton Friesner and Trevor Corzette. Tina-Avalon: Noah Meyers and Joe Ray. Jefferson: Zach Jermain, Sam Kelley and Jordan McCrary. Mercer: Thomas Mallinson and Caleb Wyatt. North Harrison: Garren Gibson and Luke Stanley. Newton: Micah Busick.

Other high schools playing boys’ fastpitch include Gilman City, Pattonsburg, Northwestern, and Breckenridge.

To read and see photos about Missouri boys’ fastpitch, visit: Missouri Boys’ Softball News and Photos